Visual Productions forum

Products => CueCore, QuadCore, IoCore, TimeCore & B-Station => Topic started by: Stefanreck on December 16, 2021, 09:29:11 PM

Title: Triggering recording on Artnet Input
Post by: Stefanreck on December 16, 2021, 09:29:11 PM
Hello there,

I have a CueCore2 which I need to record short lighting sequences (10-30s) to from an MA GMA 1. Feeding the signal into the Core via Artnet, manually starting the recording and playing back the sequences works fine, however they won't loop cleanly this way (obviously...). To do this I would need to trigger and stop the recording automatically via the input signal, but this option does not seem to work. Any ideas? Does this work over artnet (my preferred way of doing it, as it can be done remotely...) or do I really need to use the actual DMX input on the CueCore?

Title: Re: Triggering recording on Artnet Input
Post by: Julien Levaufre on December 17, 2021, 05:01:25 AM
If the artnet trigger do not work in th etrack tab, you canjust go into the show control tab, and create an artnet action list. Then you can easily create 2 actions, one to start recording and one to stop recording ( and maybe one to erase the track before recording) linked to artnet values on a dedicated channel, this way you will have an easy control of the recording.
Title: Re: Triggering recording on Artnet Input
Post by: Bootsy van der Zande on December 20, 2021, 09:09:08 AM
Hi,

Please note that using a trigger channel still requires you to press the "record" button as you would normally do. With the trigger channel at 0%, it will stand by as long as the channel is 0% and start recording as soon as you raise the channel. Recording will stop when you lower the channel to 0 again.

Greetings,
Bootsy
Title: Re: Triggering recording on Artnet Input
Post by: Stefanreck on October 23, 2022, 10:32:37 PM
If the artnet trigger do not work in th etrack tab, you canjust go into the show control tab, and create an artnet action list. Then you can easily create 2 actions, one to start recording and one to stop recording ( and maybe one to erase the track before recording) linked to artnet values on a dedicated channel, this way you will have an easy control of the recording.

I have to admit that I did not get it to work like this last time, as the installation is in a remote place and time on site is always very limited. So I just bodged around the problem by recording longer sequences that would be unlikely to run out and loop before the program gets changed manually again...
Now the system will be expanded, so I will have to redo the programming. ::)
This time I'd really like to get it right. So going from the manual (no unit on hand right now), how do I set this up? I couldn`t seem to get these actions to trigger from SACN or Artnet.
Title: Re: Triggering recording on Artnet Input
Post by: Julien Levaufre on October 24, 2022, 11:24:41 AM
Here is the procedure to follow to record some tracks in the CueCore2 from Art-net or sACN.

- go in the Cuecore2 settings to set the Art-net or sACn univers to receive datas.
- check on the bottom line of the interface that the Art-net or sACN symbol turns white in the RX line.
- you can also check in the monitor page that you are receiving the datas you are sending.
- go in the track tab,
- in the "RECORD" section select 'triggered' for 'mode'
- in 'source' select sACN or Art-net depending on what you are using
- select the sample rate you want to use: the lower the sample rate the more informations you can record.
- in 'trigger channel' select the Artnet or sACN channel that will be used for triggering the record of the track : for exemple A.500
- on you source console patch a dimmer fixture at address A.500
- in the CueCore2 track tab, select the track you want to use
- click on "erase"
- when erasing is done click on record ( an orange dot will appear in front of the track)
- when you want to start recording change the value of the dimmer fixture to full on your console, recording will start and the dot will turn red
- when you recording is over put back the dimmer fixture to 0
- recording is done

I hope this will help you,
Enjoy ;)