Visual Productions forum

Author Topic: Know's Feature Requests  (Read 5599 times)

May 01, 2010, 09:18:30 AM
Read 5599 times

KnowSlumber

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 145
I started the Feature Request thread for everyone.

I'm starting this thread just for me.

I just wanted to go over the first of my feature requests in a little more detail.
I really really need these.
 I've been trying to find work-arounds in MIDI or otherwise, and I'm up against a wall. It's gotten to the point where I may have to go back to my old software, which I do not want to do at all.

So I'm hoping I can just explain why these are so critical.

1. Need a way to start all chases from beginning via a master sync button that starts all cuelists and the tempo counter at step one.

   why: Cuelux is laggy when starting chases. The tap tempo is not precise. My chases are getting out of sync every night and I have      no way of getting them back on time.

    fix: have the first push of the tap button restart chases/stacks. Have tempo set itself from the average of four taps.

2. A way to sync BPM to external MIDI Clock.

  why: Tap tempo is nice, but it's never precise. Never ever. Just having the tempo be able to listen to a global MIDI clock would enable Cuelux to talk to so many other programs aka Ableton Live and Modul8. It would also give me the chance to do a number of tempo workarounds I so desperately need. As well as keeping my sequencer in time with Cuelux. Timing is everything.

    fix: Create a listen to MIDI clock option in the options menu.

3. Group fader/dim needs to take priority over stack/cue dim without having the Group selected.

   why: I need need need the ability to dim groups of fixtures independently of each other, and that needs to take priority over anything else thats happening in a set. Right now, AFAICT this only works when colors are solid. When I have chases/stacks going, the groups faders don't do nothing. MAybe I have the chases programmed wrong, IDK. But I gotta get this figured out.

   fix: Up the priority of fader Dim to override all other Dim data?

   NOTE: Further testing points to the problem being that group dim only works if the cuelist is assigned to a a pb fader and the fader is at 0%. So group doesn't fade when cuelist is played back through a pb button or stack.

   NOTE: It only works if the dim isn't recorded in the cue.

4. The ability for stacks to use cuelists not currently assigned to a Playback Fader.

  why: I've run out of faders. Completely. I've used them up just on chases for my columns, and have nowhere left to put cuelists for any other of my lights. I know Cues can be called from memory, so I assume there has to be a way for stacks to do this. I use stacks almost exclusively, and then sequence them externally. I would use stacklists, but I have to be able to play the stacks non-linearly, as I'm following music I've usually never heard before.

  fix: Make cuelists callable from memory?

5. The ability to rename stacklists.

  why: It's really easy to forget which stack is which, especially when you're changing them frequently.

   fix:  Make stack editable in the Cue window.

Afterword:

I know I'm not a programmer, so I'm not entirely sure how much effort goes into making changes like these, but I picked these 5 features because they shouldn't be to insanely complicated to implement.

I've been super patient on these since October (http://www.visualproductions.nl/forum/index.php?topic=779.msg1383#msg1383

You know I love Cuelux, and I think you guys are the bees knees.

Can I get a estimate on when (if) these can be put into effect?


« Last Edit: May 01, 2010, 11:50:14 PM by KnowSlumber »

May 03, 2010, 02:25:36 PM
Reply #1

Maarten Engels

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2383
    • www.visualproductions.nl
hi Noah,

I am a bit pressed for time as I am doing a large piece of coding on the engine. The type of coding that doesn't result in pretty features straight away.

However, v1.02.10 is online.

1. I have made a first attemp to provide you wiith a way to restart chases.
Code: [Select]
               <action>
                    <trigger type="Midi" specifier="Down">Channel 0 - Message 9 - Index 0</trigger>
                    <tasks>
                        <task type="Special" feature="Tempo Restart" function ="Set" />
                    </tasks>
</action>
It actually restarts on the first beat after receiving this message. Please let me know what you think about it...

2. I have connected the MIDI Clock to the BPM counter. No need to setup any options, just start sending Clock messages.

3. Assign a group to a playback fader. The playback intensity will control the Dimmer attribute of the group's fixtures. Just make sure your cuelists don't already contain dimmer attributes, because HTP wins.

to be continued for the other points...
Maarten Engels
Visual Productions BV

May 07, 2010, 01:18:14 AM
Reply #2

KnowSlumber

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 145
Brilliant Maarten.
Thanks so much for putting these in 102b10. Now that I've had a chance to test them a bit:

1. This is great, and very helpful for sequencing. Having to trigger the event at least one full beat before it happens is very very awkward for live performance.

Fix: It would be far more useful if it triggered on the beat immediately following the event.

Also (and more importantly):
Still need need need a way to restart the tempo count on first beat when event is triggered. It's the only way to get the tempo on sync with a beat. And the only way bring the tempo back in time when it drift.

2. MIDI clock seems to work okay. It's way off in the lower BPM range (anything below 90bpm). Also, very laggy. Am I correct in assuming that it's routed through the BPM counter and not driectly to the actual BPM. It seems like the MIDI clock simulates tapping the tempo button, which doesn't work if there are abrupt tempo changes. Also, need a way to disable it.

Fix: Route the MIDI clock directly to BPM. Make a checkbox to turn Listen on/off.

3. I've got that part. The issue is that when you're programming chases, in order to see what you're doing, the dim has to be up, which means it gets recorded in the chase. The workaround is to manually delete the dim from the cuelist later, but some chases can have over a hundred steps, which means a ridiculous amount of deleting as they can only be deleted individually.

Fix: Either give group fader priority over dim, or enable a way to delete params from multiple cues/entire cuelist.

Anyway, almost there on the Sync/MIDI clock stuff.
Thanks again for getting these into 102b10. I can't tell you how much I appreciate it.

May 08, 2010, 02:06:17 AM
Reply #3

KnowSlumber

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 145
So we can scratch 3 off the list.

The workaround is having the group assigned to a fader before you program the cuelist/chase. This way you can have the dim up so that you can see your chase while programming, but it doesn't get recorded into the cuelist. No need for post cuelist deleting, etc.

And personally, I have to reprogram all my cues from the ground up anyway, now that post 1027 is using the new value system for storing colors.

Another thought on point 4:

Would it be easier to make it so that we have multiple pages for play button/fader assignments?

Seems like this could add an enormous amount of functionality to the software.

I'm guessing (really guessing) that this would be an easier feature to implement?

May 10, 2010, 08:07:08 PM
Reply #4

Maarten Engels

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2383
    • www.visualproductions.nl
Just a quick reply...

1. it's off by one beat, I will address this
2. Currently: midi clock -> tapping logic -> BPM        I will look further at this, either improve the tapping logic or re-route. Is it necessary to disable incoming midi clock signals? The alternative is to just stop sending the midi clock. This would save me an option (makes me happy; I really don't like options ;) )
4. I am thinking about this. It's not necessarily difficult to create, but is tricky to keep it intuitive.
5. This requires a 'stack' menu, which I think would be a good think. Just need rearrange some things in the GUI, perhaps move the 'disk' menu to the options in order to reuse that button.
Maarten Engels
Visual Productions BV

May 12, 2010, 02:13:06 PM
Reply #5

KnowSlumber

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 145
1. Thx.

I was thinking it could be intuitive to attach a "Global Sync" (basically this and a tempo restart function) to a single tap of the tempo button.
Then, have the tapping logic get its average from four taps, which would make it more accurate.

2. I think the reroute has some advantages. Changes in tempo will be precise and reflected instantly.

Having the option would be preferable. Standard on most AV soft. There are times when you do not have access to the clock source and cannot disable it externally.

4. Can be just like the Group menu: Add, Remove, Rename, Load and a scroll menu with the files. Allowing for creation of different playlists for different situations will be key.
i.e. one for programming (detailed groups), one for shows (chases), for specific songs (cuelists), for ambients looks (stacks), etc.

5. Makes sense. Disk seems to fit in better in the options menu. Stack menu would logically be under the cue menu.

Also:

When creating cues, the cue records the params of all the patches with values in the programmer, rather than just the params of currently selected patches. Unclear if this is by design, or if only the selected fixtures are supposed yo go into the cuelist?

When Color Mix HTP is enabled, and two chases are playing, the colors combine rather than the latest selected having priority.
ie. red and blue chases create pink where overlap, rather than one overriding the other. Is this the intended behavior?

« Last Edit: May 13, 2010, 03:31:12 AM by KnowSlumber »

May 16, 2010, 12:20:12 PM
Reply #6

KnowSlumber

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 145

May 17, 2010, 05:55:41 PM
Reply #7

Maarten Engels

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2383
    • www.visualproductions.nl
2. Ok, will make option + route direct
5. Disk will move options menu. 'stack' will take place of 'disk'
ETA = couple of weeks

When creating cues, the cue records the params of all the patches with values in the programmer, rather than just the params of currently selected patches. Unclear if this is by design, or if only the selected fixtures are supposed yo go into the cuelist?
This is correct, this is by design.

When Color Mix HTP is enabled, and two chases are playing, the colors combine rather than the latest selected having priority.
ie. red and blue chases create pink where overlap, rather than one overriding the other. Is this the intended behavior?
Yes, I now realise that it is a bit ambigous. In this case HTP means per R, G, or B channel. if it's disabled then it works LTP, but then per complete colour... maybe this options should be called differently, because now it is indeed somewhat confusing.
Maarten Engels
Visual Productions BV

May 21, 2010, 09:03:57 AM
Reply #8

KnowSlumber

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 145
Awesome,  thanks. :D

Any thoughts on 1 and 4?

May 24, 2010, 01:19:40 PM
Reply #9

cmacrae

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • www.infohost.co.uk
Just to add another request.

I would like to set the speed of the global strobe.

Many thanks
Cal
Cal

May 27, 2010, 03:12:22 AM
Reply #10

KnowSlumber

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 145
Is #1:
Going to be implemented?
Any chance of just getting a "hidden" midi feature for it?
Still no way to correct for tempo drift.

Though if the MIDI clock is patched direct, I may be able to find some kind of workaround.

As for #4:
Any thoughts?
Does this feature make sense?
I'm finding that there's no workaround for this one.

« Last Edit: May 27, 2010, 10:50:47 AM by KnowSlumber »

June 04, 2010, 05:39:46 PM
Reply #11

Maarten Engels

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2383
    • www.visualproductions.nl
2. BPM has now 'manual' and 'midi' mode, this will appear in the next release.
Maarten Engels
Visual Productions BV

June 05, 2010, 01:52:16 AM
Reply #12

KnowSlumber

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 145
Cool.
Is it still MIDI clock - > tapping logic -> BPM
or is it routed direct yet?

How's the Stacklist naming menu coming along?

Is the trigger logic on the "cue sync" button fixed?

Any chance of getting that "tempo sync" button?

This one is absolutely critical.

Here's what's happening:

Songs BPM at 135.
Cuelux tap logic finds BPM at 134.
They stay in phase for a few measures.
Then, drift drift drift.
Now they're in opposite phase, looking sloppy.

I really need a way to press a button and tell the BPM to "start first count now"
It's very similar concept to a cue point button on a CDJ or Serato.
And it's a standard feature in VJ and DJ software, so having it in Cuelux would be a way to sync them all.  ;)

 Please please please please please...





June 23, 2010, 11:18:04 PM
Reply #13

KnowSlumber

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 145
Quote
How's the Stacklist naming menu coming along?

Is the trigger logic on the "cue sync" button fixed?

Any chance of getting that "tempo sync" button?

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk