Visual Productions forum

Author Topic: Problems with Martin Roboscan Pro 518  (Read 6330 times)

September 23, 2010, 12:53:59 PM
Read 6330 times

vnx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 93
Hi folks,

I have some strange problems with the Strobe Linear (STL) function of my Roboscans Pro 518. I have programmed some cues with several STL settings to have different strobes. I can activate the strobe without problems but after releasing the strobe keeps going.
Also, when using the STL fader to set strobe frequency and then clearing the programmer, the strobe also keeps going.

There is one more Problem with the STL fader that I could fix in the fixture file: when the STL fader is all the way down I would expect the strobe to be completely off, but it isn't. In the fixture file I replaced "control 138,11" with "control 0,138" because the strobe only stops on values between 0-5 and this way the STL fader produces strobes from fast to slow (which is like on a scan operator that we also use). Maybe you would like to incorporate these changes in your fixture file for distribution.

However, if someone could shed some light on the first problem, I would really appreciate it ;-)

Best,

Ben
Cuelux 1.03b22 on MacBook Pro (MacOSX 10.6.5) / Thinkpad X41t (WinXP) using Livid Ohm64 Controller

September 23, 2010, 01:27:11 PM
Reply #1

Bart van Wunnik

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 221
    • CompYouServ
Hi Ben,

Please try installing the fixturefile included.
This might solve the issue with the weird strobe.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Bart van Wunnik


September 23, 2010, 06:06:31 PM
Reply #2

vnx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 93
Hi Bart,

The file indeed fixes the second problem with the STL-Fader as it applies the exact fix I have proposed. But it does not fix the first problem with the strobe cues not properly stopping etc.

Best,

Ben
Cuelux 1.03b22 on MacBook Pro (MacOSX 10.6.5) / Thinkpad X41t (WinXP) using Livid Ohm64 Controller

September 24, 2010, 02:04:36 AM
Reply #3

TAHS

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 82
I'm not sure because I don't have one Pro 518, but try this:
Code: [Select]
fixture "Roboscan Pro 518"
notes "lamp off only with color wheel to UV pass and effects wheel to CTC filter"
angle pan 176
angle tilt 85
reset
{
offset     0
    on 203,235
    time 2
}
lamp
{
offset 0
    pulse
    on 236,252
    off 253,255
    time 6
}
strobe
{
offset 0
    control 138,11
}
dimmer msb 1 14,240
color
{
offset 2
slot 0,3 CLR_WHITE
slot 8,11 CLR_PINK
slot 16,19 CLR_MAGENTA
slot 24,27 CLR_RED
slot 32,35 CLR_RED
slot 40,43 M302
slot 48,51 CLR_ORANGE
slot 56,59 CLR_YELLOW
slot 64,67 CLR_GREEN
slot 72,75 CLR_GREEN_LIGHT
slot 80,83 CLR_TURQUOISE
slot 88,91 CLR_CYAN
slot 96,99 CLR_BLUE_LIGHT
slot 104,107 CLR_LAVENDER
slot 112,115 CLR_BLUE_LIGHT
slot 120,123 CLR_UV
scroll 197,140
}
gobo
{
offset 3
slot 0 GB_OPEN static
slot 26 GB_BARS_HORIZONTAL rotating
slot 77 GB_STICKS rotating
slot 128 GB_SQUARE rotating
slot 179 GB_BEAM_SPLITTER2 rotating
slot 230 GB_TRIANGLE rotating
rotation msb relative 25
}
ctc 4 on 100 default 0
frost 4 on 150 default 0
prism
{
offset 4
slot 0 facet 1 static
slot 255 facet 3 static
}
mode "mode 1"
    position pan msb 5 0,255
    position tilt msb 6 255,0
mode "mode 2"
    position pan msb 5 0,255
    position tilt msb 6 255,0
    preset 7 0
    preset 8 0
mode "mode 3"
notes "16 bit"
    position pan msb 5 0,255
    position pan lsb 6 0,255
    position tilt msb 7 255,0
    position tilt lsb 8 255,0

Here only the strobe-part:
Code: [Select]
strobe
{
offset 0
    control 138,11
}

The thing what I have changed, is delete all reserved values.
When I look to the DMX-output level from that channel, it looks OK.
With a release it's 000 on the DMX-level, also when I set the STL slider max downwards, it's 000 again.

I hope it works for your Pro 518  ;)

With Best Regards,
Marten

September 24, 2010, 10:35:52 AM
Reply #4

vnx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 93
Hi,

That didn't work either. Looking at the DMX-Monitor the value for the channel is not reset to zero after releasing.

I honestly have no idea, how the fixture definitions work, but I think that deleting reserved values can lead to very funny results when using any fader in the programmer. E.g. I changed my control range for the strobe from 0 to 138 (to be able to deactivate the strobe with the STL fader, see first post) but between from 6 - 10 the Roboscan controls fan speed so these values must not be send. I think this is what the reserved values are good for. Please correct me if I am on the wrong track ;-)

The fastest method for testing is to add a Roboscan Pro 518, open the DMX Monitor, set some STL-Value and then clear the programmer to see how the STL value gets stuck...

Best,

Ben
« Last Edit: September 24, 2010, 10:38:25 AM by vnx »
Cuelux 1.03b22 on MacBook Pro (MacOSX 10.6.5) / Thinkpad X41t (WinXP) using Livid Ohm64 Controller

September 24, 2010, 11:00:57 AM
Reply #5

Bart van Wunnik

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 221
    • CompYouServ
Hi Ben,

I have been able to reproduce the problem that you describe.
As far as we can see this might be a bug in the software.
Solving this bug might take a few day.

We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Bart van Wunnik


September 24, 2010, 04:13:43 PM
Reply #6

vnx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 93
Hi Bart,

No worries ;-)

Ben
Cuelux 1.03b22 on MacBook Pro (MacOSX 10.6.5) / Thinkpad X41t (WinXP) using Livid Ohm64 Controller

September 25, 2010, 04:29:05 AM
Reply #7

TAHS

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 82
I did also install the last Beta version for windows and it looks fine in the DMX-monitor.
On every release or clear it's back to 000.
With the old FTX it did the same thing what you said.
Maybe it's only happening in the MAC version.
I will try this tomorrow at work and let you now what I will read from the DMX-monitor.

And yes, the reserved option is for that function...
In my FTX I'm using new value's and that's only between the 138 and 11...
So this part don't need that reserved option because it don't past the other value's like the 6,10 and 139 ore more.
With Best Regards,
Marten

September 25, 2010, 04:44:01 AM
Reply #8

vnx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 93
Hi,

If you define strobe from 138 to 11 (that is fast strobe / slow strobe) you can never turn the strobe off. For the Roboscan Pro 518 you need to send values between 0-5 to actually stop the strobe. That's why I suggested in one of my earlier posts to define the range from 138 to 0 which in turn requires the reservation of 6-10. I did this in my FXT-File, so the STL-Fader works as expected, but the other problem mentioned before still remains.

Best,

Ben
Cuelux 1.03b22 on MacBook Pro (MacOSX 10.6.5) / Thinkpad X41t (WinXP) using Livid Ohm64 Controller

September 25, 2010, 04:56:51 AM
Reply #9

TAHS

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 82
Yes I now what you mean... ;)
But when I give here a release ore a clear in the editor...
The Strobe channel go's to 000 (zero) in the DMX-monitor, this is the correct value to let it stop.
The highest value what I get from the STL slider, is 137 and then it go's back to Zero when I'm using the 138,11.
With Best Regards,
Marten

September 25, 2010, 05:22:00 AM
Reply #10

vnx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 93
Hi,

This is indeed funny: my highest value is also 137 but no jumping down to 0 beyond that value with 138,11. Maybe it's really something with the Mac-version...
Cuelux 1.03b22 on MacBook Pro (MacOSX 10.6.5) / Thinkpad X41t (WinXP) using Livid Ohm64 Controller

September 25, 2010, 03:36:43 PM
Reply #11

TAHS

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 82
Hello Ben,

I did try it at my work with Cuelux 1.02 build 13 (Mac OS)
It gives the same results in the DMX-monitor as my windows version !
By every release and clear action, the Strobe channel shows 000 (Zero)
With Best Regards,
Marten

October 04, 2010, 10:45:33 AM
Reply #12

Maarten Engels

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2383
    • www.visualproductions.nl
hi Guys,

I have found the bug and corrected it. The fix will appear in the next release.

Thanks for pointing out this issue!
Maarten Engels
Visual Productions BV

October 07, 2010, 06:23:56 PM
Reply #13

vnx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 93
Hi Folks,

This is now fixed in b10. Many thanks!

Best,

Ben
Cuelux 1.03b22 on MacBook Pro (MacOSX 10.6.5) / Thinkpad X41t (WinXP) using Livid Ohm64 Controller

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk