Visual Productions forum

Author Topic: Cuelux question about the faders...  (Read 5328 times)

December 14, 2010, 11:20:25 PM
Read 5328 times

megadanc

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Guys,

Does anybody know that it is possible to assign for example 10 features to 1 fader?
By this i mean the following example: I'm using a  movinghead and i want to assign all my colors to 1 fader.
If i open my fader at 10% i get the first color - at 20% the second color and so further on till the fader is complete open at 100%

Maybe the same for the gobo's at 10% the first gobo - at 20% the second gobo....

thx already

December 15, 2010, 09:24:43 AM
Reply #1

Rick Willeme

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 619
    • Andy Cobben .nl
Hi megadanc,

Cuelux is a cuelist-based software. So unfortunately, it's impossible to do that.

Did you already take a look at the bundles feature? In this way you can program the colours on separate go buttons and toggle between them :)
Rick Willeme
Light Engineer AndyCobben.nl

December 15, 2010, 12:47:54 PM
Reply #2

Monkey

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 164

you can put the colors and gobos  on a Cue Button.
So you can change them by clicking on it.

In my opinion is that a better option, because you can also make color compositions.

look:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fTeAoQ8SJro

December 15, 2010, 01:27:28 PM
Reply #3

Rick Willeme

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 619
    • Andy Cobben .nl
Hi Monkey,

That's is another option, but then you can only control it in one way: Cue 1 -> 2 -> 3 -> 4 -> ...

With my solution you can jump to every cue: Cue 1 -> 4 -> 7 -> 2 -> 5 -> ...
Eventually, you can make a stacklist so you can control it in your way, or my way  8)
Rick Willeme
Light Engineer AndyCobben.nl

December 15, 2010, 01:40:32 PM
Reply #4

megadanc

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
@ Monkey: that's indeed a fine way to do it but the only problem is that the cue buttons that you use can not be controlled with my behringer BCF2000 midi controller. Or am i wrong?

@ Rick: how is bundles working? I can't seem to find anything about this in the manuel, or am i wrong?

December 15, 2010, 01:51:56 PM
Reply #5

Rick Willeme

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 619
    • Andy Cobben .nl
@ Monkey: that's indeed a fine way to do it but the only problem is that the cue buttons that you use can not be controlled with my behringer BCF2000 midi controller. Or am i wrong?
That's true, but..
- You also can put them on a playback fader
- You always can change your midimap

@ Rick: how is bundles working? I can't seem to find anything about this in the manuel, or am i wrong?
No, that's true. The bundles will be explained in the next manual :)

Simple explanation: You can put multiple playback buttons/faders in a bundle. When playback button 1 (with cuelist 1) is active and you run playback button 2 (with cuelist 2), button 1 stops and 2 runs. Same way around.
So you can switch between cuelist very fast (no need to release the other first).
Rick Willeme
Light Engineer AndyCobben.nl

December 15, 2010, 04:03:05 PM
Reply #6

Monkey

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 164

I understand it so:

if you set Bundle to 1, only one Cuelist could be active at the same time,
if you set Bundle to 2, only two Cuelists cound be active at the same time,
if you put bundle to 3, only three...

right?

December 15, 2010, 04:13:34 PM
Reply #7

megadanc

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
How does bundles works exact.
Do you need en new or future version of cuelux for this...

greets

Stefan

December 15, 2010, 04:50:01 PM
Reply #8

Monkey

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 164

@ megadanc:
Ifve got version 1.03 14(Elation Emulation) and it works with bundles.

here a video without bundles (Cuelists dont stop if I press another):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JAj7TRat624

and a video with bundles (Cuelists stop if I press another):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d-UOaYXIs0U


December 16, 2010, 08:57:24 AM
Reply #9

Rick Willeme

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 619
    • Andy Cobben .nl
Rick Willeme
Light Engineer AndyCobben.nl

December 16, 2010, 09:52:34 AM
Reply #10

Zo Castle

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 288
    • http://www.visualproductions.nl
Hello Monkey & Megadanc

It seems to me that you two do not need us anymore as you have figured out bundles already!  But just in case...

We hope to have a updated version of the user manual available online next week with Bundles explained.

This manual will be in English language to start with.  Translations usually get done with thanks to our dealers so it does depend a little on their schedules...

I am glad you are both enjoying using our software, thank you!

Greetings Zoe
Zo Castle
Sales Manager
Visual Productions BV

December 16, 2010, 11:17:33 AM
Reply #11

TAHS

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 82
Hello Stefan,

There is a option to at this future to a fader... ;)
The only way is to edit your fixture-personality !

You can at a "custom" color/gobo option to your fixture, a "custom" option is also depend from the fader-position.
I did try this with a High End "studio spot 250" and it works OK.
The option is also to keep the normal "gobo" and/or "color" editors as normal.
The fixture will react on the last action.

If you need a help to edit your fixture-personality... please let me now which fixture you are using.

The fader-mapping is depend about your fixture...
If the fixture has 10 colors, the fader-mapping will give each 10% a different color.
If the fixture gets 20 colors, then it's 5% etc.....

Edit:
After you at this future to your fixtures...
You can start to program some cuelists.
In each cuelist you can at a single fixture ore a group...
If you like to at more fixtures together, just select the fixtures you need...
Here a example to make a "GOBO" fader:
After selecting the fixtures...
Set the "custom" gobo value to 100% and record this to the fader you like to use for this function...
Then activate in this cuelist the "background" option, to set this cuelist automatically active by start.
Set the fade in/out times from this cuelist to zero...
Give the cuelist a name and you are done for this "GOBO" fader  :)
If you now move the fader, the fixture(s) will move the gobo-wheel.

Please notice that if you like to programming with the gobo/color faders....
You only can record it as a STACK !

Also notice that if you have programmed more cuelists including the gobo...
It's possible that the gobo-wheel will not listen to your gobo-fader !
You have to find your own way to use it together with your setup/show.

Here a short video to show how it looks: http://flic.kr/p/92mubf
« Last Edit: December 16, 2010, 02:09:02 PM by TAHS »
With Best Regards,
Marten

December 16, 2010, 08:38:51 PM
Reply #12

megadanc

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Hey thas,

Thx for the video.

How do you have to fix that? Do you have to make your own fixture in the builder program?

greets

Stef

December 16, 2010, 08:44:40 PM
Reply #13

TAHS

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 82
Hello Stefan,

It's possible to make this with the "builder" but I still edit the personality file by hand.

Which fixture are you using ?
With Best Regards,
Marten

December 16, 2010, 08:57:31 PM
Reply #14

megadanc

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
I'm using the phantom spot 250 V2 from SHOWTEC

I want to add the gobos and the colors to a fader if possible..

thx for the help

greats

Stef

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk