Visual Productions forum

Author Topic: Starcloth  (Read 1934 times)

May 13, 2013, 09:54:47 PM
Read 1934 times

Rayco

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 251
Having problems revising the fixture profile for a Starcloth.

The current one does not dim when the master dimmer or blackout goes down.

It seems to have five channels with four being dual purpose dimmer/speed depending on where channel five is set.

The easiest way to program scenes just now is to use a 'custom' fixture, with all channels together.

This would probably work if a 'virtual' dimmer could be set to dim and blackout the Starcloth.

Abetter way though would to be able to set a switch/toggle to set channel 5 to dim or flash, then to have the four remaining channels controlled by a dimmer or speed slider depending on where the switch was set.

That might not be possible but if the first four channels can all be assigned to one dimmer that would be used to set the speed or the intensity. Then a simple switch could be used to select either fade or sequence.

Does any of that make sense to anyone?

Any suggestions welcome...

May 15, 2013, 11:32:47 AM
Reply #1

Dennis Kromhout

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 838
Hello,

Do you have a link/manual for this fixture?
Dennis Kromhout

May 15, 2013, 01:11:00 PM
Reply #2

Rayco

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 251
Hi Dennis,

Here is a link.

https://prolight.co.uk/images//media/STAR07/STAR07-um0.pdf



When channel 5 is 101-255 the other 4 channels operate as dimmers.

If channel 5 is below 100, other four channels operate as speed controls.


It could do with having one dimmer for the four channels which would operate if channel 5 was high.  If channel 4 is low you would have a 'speed' control.
Maybe not possible.

« Last Edit: May 15, 2013, 01:15:14 PM by Rayco »

May 15, 2013, 01:56:02 PM
Reply #3

Dennis Kromhout

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 838
What you could do is:
Remove the shutter part from the subs and add a dimmer range 20,231
(in the manual it says "Flash speed", nothing about a double functions with dimmer)
This way it works with the global dimmer but it also has influence in case Ch5 is on strobe.

When a fixture shares a channel for multiple functions depending on another channel then there usually isn't perfect solution I'm afraid.
Dennis Kromhout

May 16, 2013, 12:30:29 AM
Reply #4

Rayco

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 251
Yes, thought it might be a compromise.

The manual is wrong and it seems a very strange way to set up the programming for this type (or any type) of fixture.

It would work fine having single channel dimmers (or custom) then having a speed control.  But they way they have programmed it there are four duel-purpose channels and the 5th switch channel. Mad!!

Will try that and see how it works.

Thanks

May 16, 2013, 09:52:34 AM
Reply #5

Dennis Kromhout

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 838
The manual is wrong and it seems a very strange way to set up the programming for this type (or any type) of fixture.

Welcome to the world of making personality files ;)
Dennis Kromhout

May 16, 2013, 01:14:17 PM
Reply #6

Rayco

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 251
Tried a few options but this one seems to work best.

By putting the shutter in a sub you can see what mode its in, if the shuter is closed it is in fade mode, shutter open it will be in dimer mode. And the blackout works.




<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no" ?>
<personalities>
    <manufacturer label="Modified" revision="1">
        <model label="StarCloth - shutter in sub 5">
            <changelogs>
                <change username="Visual Productions" notes="Initial version" date="2007-01-01" time="00-00-00-00" />
                <change username="" notes="" date="2013-05-16" time="00-19-41-84" />
                <change username="" notes="" date="2013-05-16" time="01-07-40-98" />
                <change username="" notes="" date="2013-05-16" time="11-52-21-78" />
            </changelogs>
            <sub>
                <part attribute="Dimmer">
                    <range function="Control MSB" offset="0">20,231</range>
                </part>
            </sub>
            <sub>
                <part attribute="Dimmer">
                    <range function="Control MSB" offset="1">20,231</range>
                </part>
            </sub>
            <sub>
                <part attribute="Dimmer">
                    <range function="Control MSB" offset="2">20,231</range>
                </part>
            </sub>
            <sub>
                <part attribute="Dimmer">
                    <range function="Control MSB" offset="3">20,231</range>
                </part>
            </sub>
            <sub>
                <part attribute="Shutter">
                    <range function="On" offset="4">0,100</range>
                </part>
            </sub>
        </model>
    </manufacturer>
</personalities>



 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk