Visual Productions forum

Author Topic: Eurolite ERX-4 NOT as a dimmer  (Read 1201 times)

November 19, 2017, 05:15:37 PM
Read 1201 times

AxelF

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 152
Hi,

I have some Eurlite ERX-4 http://media.steinigke.de/documents_t/70064210-MANUAL-2.10-en-de_00109135.pdf to switch on and off devices with noisy fans.

Unfortunaly the personality of ERX-4 has implemented it as a dimmer. So it switches on  at a dmx value >= 128 and off <= 127.

This causes, that they switch off, I I tear down the master dimmer below 49%. I don't want that.

It is possible to implement it as some other device, which is not a dimmer, so that it is not depenant from the master dimmer ?

I use it on CueluxPro.

Regards
Axel

November 19, 2017, 05:32:41 PM
Reply #1

Julien Levaufre

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2184
    • www.visualproductions.nl
i changed the dimmer to shutters, so it shoudl not respond to master fader anymore.
Tell me if it's ok now,
Enjoy, ;)
Julien Levaufre
Visual Productions BV

November 20, 2017, 10:36:03 PM
Reply #2

AxelF

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 152
Julian,

thank you.

It works, but I have a small problem: The shutter works inverted, that means, it is on by default.

I have changed the range to 128,255 and it works fine.

On the way to modify my existing setup I had to exchange two devices and need to modify four cues. Cuelux has crashed completely four times at that work. I still hope, that it will get better once in the far future.

Regards
Axel

November 21, 2017, 04:18:48 PM
Reply #3

Julien Levaufre

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2184
    • www.visualproductions.nl
Glad it worked for the fixture file, but sorry to ear about the crashs...
Cuelux is really stable since a long time, we did not have any crash reports fro a while, even me using it almost every week end on different events do not have crashes switching fixtures or editing cues.
So maybe it's coming from you cuelux installation...
Julien Levaufre
Visual Productions BV

December 12, 2017, 05:50:18 PM
Reply #4

AxelF

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 152
Julien,

I have just found out another problem:

If I press "Blackout" all ERX switches are set on. So I think the shutter is not a good idea for this function.

What else can we use ? A gobo ?

Regards

Axel

December 13, 2017, 01:12:31 AM
Reply #5

Julien Levaufre

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2184
    • www.visualproductions.nl
Axel,
yep this is not the way it shoudl work, so i changed the fixture file and put the control on tha LAD function in the misc tab.
Now you should not have anymore problems with that!
enjoy, ;)
« Last Edit: December 13, 2017, 02:08:52 PM by Julien Levaufre »
Julien Levaufre
Visual Productions BV

December 13, 2017, 12:41:06 PM
Reply #6

AxelF

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 152
Julien,

thanks for your work. Where can I download it ?

Regards

Axel

December 13, 2017, 02:09:24 PM
Reply #7

Julien Levaufre

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2184
    • www.visualproductions.nl
oops...i updated my previous post with the file! ::)
Julien Levaufre
Visual Productions BV

December 13, 2017, 09:47:28 PM
Reply #8

AxelF

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 152
Sorry, it does not work from a cue.

December 14, 2017, 01:50:39 PM
Reply #9

Julien Levaufre

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2184
    • www.visualproductions.nl
That's strange, it works fine on my setup... :-\
Julien Levaufre
Visual Productions BV

December 14, 2017, 01:55:37 PM
Reply #10

AxelF

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 152
Thats CueluxPro: 100 + 1 errors.

December 14, 2017, 03:25:03 PM
Reply #11

Julien Levaufre

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2184
    • www.visualproductions.nl
oups i tested on cuelux...
So just tested it on cuelux pro 1.4.13 ( that's the version i am using) and it's working too... ???
Julien Levaufre
Visual Productions BV

December 14, 2017, 03:26:53 PM
Reply #12

AxelF

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 152
I assume that you mean 1.431 not 1.413, correct ?

December 14, 2017, 10:10:24 PM
Reply #13

AxelF

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 152
Julien,
I have checked it again:

You have mixed up on and off: In your fixture on is 0,127. This will cause an inverted function.

I have set on to 254, 255 and it works better.

Anyway: If I have the LAD in a cue and the cue ist set to background, so that it starts automatically at CueluxPro startup, the fixture is switched on, but the status display in CueluxPro shows off.

If I switch off and on again, the status is shown correctly. There are a lot of situations in CueluxPro, where the display update does not work correctly, but nobody in your companie seems to be interested in fixing it.

Regards
Axel

December 15, 2017, 04:31:05 AM
Reply #14

Julien Levaufre

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2184
    • www.visualproductions.nl
sorry for the inversion, but glad it works.
I will transfert to the dev team your issue, that's the best i can do on y side.
enjoy ;)
Julien Levaufre
Visual Productions BV

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk