Visual Productions forum

Author Topic: Division by Zero error.  (Read 6212 times)

June 06, 2007, 05:11:00 PM
Read 6212 times

Onge

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Just Floyd Lighting Guy
    • Just Floyd - The Pink Floyd Tribute
Hi,

I am trying out the VisualDMX (1.47 build 8 ) and Visual3D (1.05 build 3 ) software (I have ordered the USB DMX Output Interface).

I am getting a "Division by zero" error when I right click any fixture in the 2D fixture view.
If I left click a fixture and move it as soon as release the mouse button I get the "Division by Zero" error.

The only way I can get around this, is "Save" the configuration (If it allows me) and exit from program and restart, then  reload the config again.

Any ideas?

Many thanks

André
« Last Edit: June 06, 2007, 05:13:27 PM by Onge »
There is no darkside, it is all dark.

June 07, 2007, 05:46:32 PM
Reply #1

Maarten Engels

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2383
    • www.visualproductions.nl
Hi André,

Thanks for sharing this bug... I can't seem to reproduce this straight away, but I will continue trying to locate the problem.

Maarten
Maarten Engels
Visual Productions BV

June 11, 2007, 11:16:44 AM
Reply #2

Onge

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Just Floyd Lighting Guy
    • Just Floyd - The Pink Floyd Tribute
Hi Maarten,

I will be picking up my interface today and will get the software loaded on the laptop that I use for the show.
Currently the software is loaded on my desktop, which is where I do all the work/testing getting the shows ready. This has 2 dual head video cards with SLI enabled. I am wondering if it is that?

I will also try a complete un-install and delete directories and the registry. Then re-install the product, to see if that make a difference.

I have also e-mailed my configuration file, for you to have a look at as well.

Cheers

André
There is no darkside, it is all dark.

June 20, 2007, 06:30:50 PM
Reply #3

Onge

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Just Floyd Lighting Guy
    • Just Floyd - The Pink Floyd Tribute
This division by zero error is driving me crazy, makes the software practically un-usable.
I am now getting it by just hovering the mouse pointer over a fixture, and then it re-sizes it on it's own. ???

I am not happy :(
There is no darkside, it is all dark.

June 21, 2007, 10:18:00 AM
Reply #4

Jeroen van der Velden

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 181
    • http://www.visualproductions.nl
Hi Onge,

Can you please send the configuration-file to support *AT* visualproductions *DOT* nl?

I'll have a look at it.
Jeroen van der Velden
Moving light operator

June 21, 2007, 06:21:19 PM
Reply #5

Onge

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Just Floyd Lighting Guy
    • Just Floyd - The Pink Floyd Tribute
Hi Joroen,

I have emailed you the config file and details of the pc I am having problems on.

All configuration files, new or the ones supplied end up with a division by zero error eventually.

I have also noticed that according to the manual you can increase/decrease the size of the displayed fixture by using the Ctrl + arrow keys. Well It don't work on either of my pcs.

Thanks

André
There is no darkside, it is all dark.

July 16, 2007, 09:29:28 AM
Reply #6

Maarten Engels

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2383
    • www.visualproductions.nl
Hi Onge,

I am still unable to reproduce the error, not even the files you've sent. Do you still have the problem with 1.47 build 12?
Maarten Engels
Visual Productions BV

July 21, 2007, 02:39:10 AM
Reply #7

SpaceyDeeJ

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • http://www.spacecompany.nl
Reading these postings, it feels like some hardware driver of his computer is conflicting with VD... that could be an explanation why Maarten can not reproduce this error...
Just a thought...

September 17, 2007, 05:20:53 PM
Reply #8

Onge

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Just Floyd Lighting Guy
    • Just Floyd - The Pink Floyd Tribute
I have now downloaded and installed 1.48 build 7 and installed on my laptop that has Vista and I have not had the Division by Zero error. So hopefully that will resolve the issue when I install it on my main desktop and othyer laptop.

There is no darkside, it is all dark.

September 18, 2007, 12:00:47 AM
Reply #9

Remy

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
I also solved this problem once by installing the (former problematic) visualDMX version in another folder.

I suppose somehow a file get corrupt (or someting ??) or maybe a registry error. But that helped for me.
Now you installed a new visualDMX version, also in a different folder.

September 18, 2007, 04:34:46 PM
Reply #10

Maarten Engels

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2383
    • www.visualproductions.nl
Please let me know if any of you encounter the problem in the 1.48 release. It's still a tricky issue because we can't reproduce the problem.

Installing a new vdmx version in a new folder is always a good idea. Also, registry settings should not play role as vdmx hardly uses them.
Maarten Engels
Visual Productions BV

September 19, 2007, 11:58:23 AM
Reply #11

Maarten Engels

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2383
    • www.visualproductions.nl
"Houston, we've found the problem."

We have finally found what caused the div by zero error. It is triggered by an invalid value in the 'Snap to Grid' setting in the Options window. When the 'Snap to Grid' is enabled and the grid value is 0, then this error occurs. The loading/saving of this setting is incorrect, setting it to 0.

Resolution: Disable the 'Snap to Grid' option.

This bug will be fixed in the upcoming 1.48 build 8 release.

Thanks for your patience and sending me your configuration files.
Maarten Engels
Visual Productions BV

September 20, 2007, 11:56:59 AM
Reply #12

Maarten Engels

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2383
    • www.visualproductions.nl
Version 1.48 build 8 is now online.
Maarten Engels
Visual Productions BV

October 07, 2007, 12:05:28 PM
Reply #13

Remy

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Found this, made me smile    :D


 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk