Visual Productions forum

Author Topic: Control Christie projector and Atlona switch with RS232 IoCore  (Read 2986 times)

July 26, 2018, 10:15:52 PM
Read 2986 times

Dennis_mav

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Hello,

I want to control a Christie projector and an Atlona video switch using RS232 with an IoCore, I've been trying a lot, but it doesn't work.

What I have:
Visual Productions IoCore2
Atlona SW-52ED 4K/UHD Five-Input HDMI Switcher
Christie DWU599-GS projector

I've been testing the devices separately from each other by wiring the RX to the TX port en the TX to the RX port. And off coarse the ground to the ground.
The settings in every device are the same:
Serial Port Baud Rate: 115200
Serial Port Echo: off
Data bits: 8
Parity: None
Stop bits: 1
Flow control: None

For example I'm sending the following messages from the IoCore:
RS232, Send String, Set

To the projector:
Param1: (PWR 1)
Param2: 5
(what does Param2 do?)

To the switch:
Param1: PWON
Param2: 4

In the IoCore monitor I see the command has been send, but the projector as well the switch won't respond on my actions.
Do I need to send an start command, or maybe I've to separate it in more than one command?

In the attachment you can find the documents off the projector and switch.

What am i doing wrong? Can someone please help me!

July 27, 2018, 09:39:36 AM
Reply #1

Guido Visser

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 244
    • Visual Productions
Hello Dennis,

About the projector message.
I think the message that is send to the projector may not work because of param2. Which indicates the number of characters to send. The message you want to send to the projector is "(PWR 1)". Which has 7 characters. Count the brackets and the space as well. Could you try to change param 2 from 5 to 7.

About the switch.
When reading the manual it seems that all commands have to end with Carriage return.

The carriage return is not automatically added to end of a message. You will have tell the IoCore2 to send the carriage return. You can do this in two ways.
The first option is to add a second task which sends the carriage return.
Task 1: RS-232 -> Send String -> Set -> PWON -> 4
Task 2: RS-232 -> Send Bytes -> Set -> 0D0A -> 2
The two tasks should both be in the same action.

The second option is to combine the two tasks into one task:
Task: RS-232 -> Send Bytes -> Set -> 50574F4E0D0A -> 6
I have translated the message PWON (the ascii text) to hexadecimal which the task send bytes uses.
And then i have appended the carriage return.

Please let me know if this works.

Best regards,
Guido
Guido Visser
Visual Productions BV

July 31, 2018, 12:20:30 PM
Reply #2

Dennis_mav

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Thank you Guido.

Nothing of this works.

It looks like the IoCore isn't sending the right commands or it will not reach the devices.
I've tested with Send Bytes in one Hex string, I've separated the command ( PWON / 50574F4E ) and the Carriage return ( CRLF / 0D0A ) in two tasks.

In the attachment you see the output message window. The 0D0A is displayed as "??" Is that normal?

I've tested the switcher to the projector with RS232, that works a bit. But if I can't reach the switcher with RS232 I also can't reach the projector.

Maybe you have soms other things to try?

July 31, 2018, 03:29:00 PM
Reply #3

Dennis_mav

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
I've been sending the command (PWR 1) (and many others) from the IoCore (see the attachment) to the software 232Analyzer.
In the other attachment you see the result of the information the software is receiving.

I also tested to send the commands from the software to the projector and switcher. This is working.
The projector as well the switcher is going on and off.
So I think the problem will be in the IoCore.

August 01, 2018, 11:51:38 AM
Reply #4

Guido Visser

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 244
    • Visual Productions
Hello Dennis,

The monitor page can not show all characters. If there are characters it can not show it will replace them with a ?.

However I have been testing it. And I found that there is a bug in the IoCore2 firmware which causes the baud rate 115200 to not work. I will update you when the update is ready.

Best regards,
Guido
Guido Visser
Visual Productions BV

August 01, 2018, 12:07:52 PM
Reply #5

Dennis_mav

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Oké Guido. Thank you for your support so far.

Is there also a bug with other baudrates? Or can I use for now maybe an older firmware?

August 02, 2018, 12:12:30 PM
Reply #6

Guido Visser

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 244
    • Visual Productions
Hello Dennis,

This bug only applies to the 115200 baudrate.
While I do not have an older firmware for you. I have send an email to you with a beta IoCore2 firmware which should fix the problem.

Best regards,
Guido
Guido Visser
Visual Productions BV

August 07, 2018, 09:38:36 PM
Reply #7

Dennis_mav

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Hi Guido,

The beta firmware is working fine.

The only thing that doesn't work is the command "projector on" (PWR 1).
Every other command is working, but if the projector is off, it will not go on with RS232.
I have change the power setting to communication mode, but it doesn't help.
Maybe you have an idea. I will ask the same question to the reseller of the Christie projector.

August 08, 2018, 09:11:20 AM
Reply #8

Guido Visser

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 244
    • Visual Productions
Hello Dennis,

The IoCore2 does not do anything special with any of the messages. From the perspective of the IoCore2 the (PWR 1) command is the same as any other command. As long as both param1 and param2 are set correctly it should work.

Hopefully your Christie projector reseller can help you.

Best regards,
Guido
Guido Visser
Visual Productions BV

March 24, 2020, 09:55:31 AM
Reply #9

Dennis_mav

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Hello Guido,

It's been a while, but this problem hasn't been fixed yet.
Maybe you can help me with the following new information.

The projector On command by RS232 doesn't work. All other commands to the projector are working perfect.
I've monitored the output signal of the IoCore and I saw it is sending every RS232 string/command twice.
That's the only difference I see on the output signal of a terminal RS232 software on a laptop and the IoCore.
Do you know why it is sending all the commands twice?

Best regards,
Dennis

March 24, 2020, 10:58:20 AM
Reply #10

Bootsy van der Zande

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
Hi Dennis,

How are you triggering the commands? When using the 'Execute' button, it triggers the command when pressing and when releasing the button. So it triggers twice that way. I'm afraid there is no way around that...
Another possible cause is having the trigger flank set to 'Change'. That could mean it triggers twice. If that is the case you can set the trigger flank to 'Down' to have it only trigger once.

What did the Christie reseller say about the issue?

Greetings,
Bootsy

March 24, 2020, 12:38:49 PM
Reply #11

Dennis_mav

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Hi Bootsy,

I'm triggering it with an UDP command from an Ecler Touch Screen.
I don't think the double trigger is the problem, but it's the only difference with sending from a laptop, witch works perfect.

I've contacted a lot with Christie about the problem and tried almost everything.
It's works with RS232 software on a laptop, so they think it's the signal from the IoCore.
We've placed the IoCore directly near the projector for the test. Every RS232 signal works, but the power on command still doesn't work.
The IoCore has the latest firmware.

Dennis

March 25, 2020, 10:06:29 AM
Reply #12

Bootsy van der Zande

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
Hi Dennis,

Regarding the double trigger, I think that might be a trigger flank thing. What UDP message do you send, and do you have the trigger flank set to down?

About the RS232 command... Can you share the showfile with me, and do you have a manual or something for the RS232 commands for the Christie projector? I will have a look.

Greetings,
Bootsy

March 25, 2020, 10:27:27 AM
Reply #13

Dennis_mav

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Hi Bootsy,

In the attachment of this message you can find the manual and showfile.
At the moment I'm not on the location to check the status of the trigger flank.
Maybe you can see this in the showfile.

Dennis
« Last Edit: April 01, 2020, 01:37:20 PM by Dennis_mav »

March 27, 2020, 01:44:51 PM
Reply #14

Bootsy van der Zande

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
Hi Dennis,

I've checked your showfile, loaded it in an IoCore2 and hooked it up to a logic analyzer. I've added what we send as an attachment to this post. Seems like we are sending the right message. But perhaps the projector doesn't like that the two commands are directly after each other. Can you try with the commands in separate actions, not triggering at the same time? It's a shame I can't hookup the laptop to see what it is sending, you said that sending it from a laptop worked? How are you sending it?

How have you connected the RS232 to the devices?

Greetings,
Bootsy

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk