Visual Productions forum

Author Topic: Request, new builder software....(okay and a pers. file...)  (Read 938 times)

2018 November 26, 21:05:43
Read 938 times

Spikkelpaard

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Hello y'all,

So here's the thing, instead of the usual moving heads I needed to order different ones and as my client is always like  "can we do it today?"  I'm wrestling myself through the proces of building a fixture file...
Now 2 things would be nice...

1) A stable piece of software that doesn't quit on OSX Mojave when I try to remove something (I have started my 14th version now, not nice, no save options and no idea why it crashes)

2) Get rid of all those indept lighting terms that all over cuelux, cuety and builder is used, I'm everything BUT a lighting guy and I get stuck when I try to build a colorwheel in between fixed colors and scrolling (scrolling what? colors? colorwheel? something else?)

So here I am, ranting at night on a forum, with no time to ask a personality file cause it has to work tonight, and some crappy software infused with terms that I don't understand, a little suggestion, charge 5€ for the vBuilder and hire a non-lighttech developer to build it, fair chance I understand what he means....

[edit some hours later....]
So my apologies for the rant here above, as you might notice I was really really stressed out and still am but managed to squeeze wednesday in between as D-day so I hope we have some things back up then!

Okay so here's the problem; the Equinox Fusion 100 Spot (manual/PDF: http://www.prolight.co.uk/ftp-in/EQLED069_Manual.pdf ) and I made a 8chan dmx config for it, loaded it into my Mac and then to the iPad and didn't find the file vack in the fixture list...so problem 3 or something, where does cutey keep the user files when synced with iTunes?
But al in all, I would love updated personality files for the fusion 100, and to be honest, I need them by Wednesday ;)

Thank you and again my apologies for the rant, but it was needed ;)
« Last Edit: 2018 November 26, 23:52:36 by Spikkelpaard »

2018 November 27, 13:35:20
Reply #1

Julien Levaufre

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3343
    • www.visualproductions.nl
I am sorry for your issues with the builder i will transfert your remarks to the dev team.
Abou the the cuety fixture file please find it included.
Once transfered to your ipad it should up at the top of the manufacturer list starting with [user].
I hope it willl be ok for you,
Enjoy  ;)
Julien Levaufre
Visual Productions BV

2018 November 27, 18:33:48
Reply #2

Spikkelpaard

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Ah thnx Julien, I really missed your message and file, but great! and thank you very much, now how do I get this on the iPad.
Thing is, I tried to upload my own file but it didn't show up on the ipad as iTunes said it was transfered :S

2018 November 28, 10:38:40
Reply #3

Bootsy van der Zande

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
Can you please doublecheck you are doing this as per our advice. Please see the link below and let us know if this helps.

For Cuety
Just follow this video tutorial:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hM5_277qgbs

Good luck!

2019 January 08, 15:05:11
Reply #4

Spikkelpaard

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
So I'm back at the client who has 2 LPU's and 2 iPad cause 1 universe wasn't enough...
Programming 52 moving heads I'm almost crying to myself that I've chosen Cuety for this venue, the programming of the MH's is such horror, 5x5cm to set positions, every time you raise the stylus the position echo's 1/2mm more then what I want, resulting in 4/5meters difference in the room.
Again, there's no way to type in values on the minifaders in the bottom, and most of all, the reason why I'm writing here now....
Infested with lighting terms only lightoperators understand, the only thing that I know&want is an OOPS button, but hey, a undo/oops/step back function is not around....why not? I just set 14 Moving heads in position, want to record, press load and too bad, all back to the original cue.....cost me almost an iPad but I decided writing here is better then trowing iPad around....
So again, a ZOOM function for the positioning of the Moving Heads, a numeric way to give in values and please please please implement a undo/previous step button, it's to easy to hit something with your stylus that *messes* up your cue....

2019 January 08, 15:35:07
Reply #5

Bootsy van der Zande

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
Hi,

I've written down your suggestions, and agree with most of them.  Are you setting pan and tilt at the same time? I suggest moving just pan or tilt when trying to be more precise.

But apart from that, the LPU is an entry level product, it sounds like a complicated show you're doing with it. I understand your frustrations...
Good luck!

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk