Visual Productions forum

Author Topic: Using UDP float  (Read 624 times)

September 07, 2019, 10:17:52 AM
Read 624 times

greg-pulse

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
I need to send commands
"CSQ 1 <float> \r"
to my Symetrix Composer device with Float between 0 and 65535

I am able to use packet sender and control my device but entering
"CSQ 1 "
into the Kiosc editor UDP tag, with the Kiosc setup with the right IP and Port but this doesn't work.
I have setup the min and max values.
Not sure how to put the float in the right place and make sure I have a <CR>.

September 09, 2019, 09:39:36 AM
Reply #1

Bootsy van der Zande

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 346
Hi,

It is currently not possible to send a <CR> after the float value.
As a workaround, you can try to put the <CR> in front of the UDP Message.
This way you would send
\rCSQ 1=57579.86
\rCSQ 1=57579.87
\rCSQ 1=57579.88

Otherwise I'm guessing you can't use it until we implement the <CR> value.
This is the downside of UDP over OSC, with UDP every manufacturer does it differently... OSC is standardised.
I'm very sorry for the inconvenience.

Greetings,
Bootsy

September 22, 2019, 10:11:22 AM
Reply #2

greg-pulse

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Thanks for the reply Bootsy.

Is there any way to turn off the decimal and only send whole numbers?

September 23, 2019, 02:57:38 PM
Reply #3

Bootsy van der Zande

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 346
Hi,

You can set the fader to 'Unsigned integer' instead of 'Float'. This should make it send whole numbers instead.

Greetings,
Bootsy

September 28, 2019, 09:22:53 AM
Reply #4

greg-pulse

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Hi,

Doing this is will only give me a bootlean, 0 or 1. as per the attached

September 30, 2019, 09:24:15 AM
Reply #5

Bootsy van der Zande

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 346
Hi,

You can set the range of the fader. At default it is at 0 - 1, but you can set it to whatever you want.

Greetings,
Bootsy

October 02, 2019, 11:48:09 AM
Reply #6

greg-pulse

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Hi Bootsy, i still have the decimal... :(

October 02, 2019, 12:25:44 PM
Reply #7

Bootsy van der Zande

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 346
Hi,

I've included some pictures of my settings, I am not sure why you still have decimals...
Can you copy what I did? Make sure you press enter after changing something in the Editor.

Greetings,
Bootsy


October 04, 2019, 08:45:30 AM
Reply #8

greg-pulse

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
I created a new file and am still getting decimals.

I am using Verison V1.8.0 on Mac OSX 10.14.6 if that helps.

I am happy for you to do a remote connection to my machine if that helps? Please send me an email in that regards.

October 04, 2019, 09:35:48 AM
Reply #9

Bootsy van der Zande

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 346
Hi,

Can you attach your showfile here? A new one with the issue is also fine. I will check what I need to do to get it working!

Greetings,
Bootsy

October 04, 2019, 11:05:08 AM
Reply #10

greg-pulse

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
here you go

October 04, 2019, 02:25:19 PM
Reply #11

Bootsy van der Zande

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 346
Hi,

I see that your message is still set to FLOAT in the editor, can you set this to UNSIGNED?
The setting is next to the OSC/UDP tag fields.

Greetings,
Bootsy

November 06, 2019, 11:19:02 AM
Reply #12

tocnaza

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • gratis porno
Thanks for the file!

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk