Visual Productions forum

Author Topic: iPhone Remote: Tutorial  (Read 27004 times)

May 02, 2010, 03:03:56 AM
Reply #15

Lufferov

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
So, any ideas? I'm still having the same problem. Seems weird the iPhone works fine but not the HTC. Like you say, it shouldn't matter because it's just a webpage!

 Been trying lots, but it never loads :-(


May 03, 2010, 01:35:02 PM
Reply #16

Rick Willeme

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 619
    • Andy Cobben .nl
What browser are you using?
Rick Willeme
Light Engineer AndyCobben.nl

May 03, 2010, 01:39:40 PM
Reply #17

Lufferov

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
It's the default HTC Desire browser, don't know what it is. I would guess it's just the normal Android browser, but can't say for certain. I just click the Internet icon on the phone.

May 03, 2010, 01:45:13 PM
Reply #18

Rick Willeme

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 619
    • Andy Cobben .nl
And how do you connect to the internet?
Rick Willeme
Light Engineer AndyCobben.nl

May 03, 2010, 01:46:29 PM
Reply #19

Lufferov

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
It's using my home wifi network, both devices connect in the same way.

May 03, 2010, 02:10:36 PM
Reply #20

Rick Willeme

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 619
    • Andy Cobben .nl
Hmmm...
It probably has something to do with Adroid/Adroids browser..

Try to install Opera on your phone.
Rick Willeme
Light Engineer AndyCobben.nl

May 03, 2010, 03:13:13 PM
Reply #21

Lufferov

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
I've just downloaded and tried Opera 5 mini and get the same results, just a progress bar that never loads the page.

I produced a quick video to show you what happens, here:


Cuelux on HTC Desire

May 03, 2010, 03:41:31 PM
Reply #22

Rick Willeme

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 619
    • Andy Cobben .nl
Think, think, think........  :-\

Have you tried changing your port?
Rick Willeme
Light Engineer AndyCobben.nl

May 03, 2010, 03:43:19 PM
Reply #23

Maarten Engels

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2383
    • www.visualproductions.nl
is Javascript enabled in your browser?
Maarten Engels
Visual Productions BV

May 03, 2010, 04:05:05 PM
Reply #24

Lufferov

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
@Maarten Yes JavaScript is working fine on other web pages, I just checked to make sure.

@Rick Just tried a couple of different ports, but no difference.

Has anyone else managed to use the remote on the HTC Desire, or any Android OS phone? Is this a problem that is exclusive to me or is it more widespread?

May 04, 2010, 02:14:13 AM
Reply #25

Lufferov

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
PROBLEM SOLVED!

Someone on YouTube spotted my phone wasn't actually connected to the wifi, even though the phone settings said it should be. Turns out I had to reboot my router and get a new connection. Such a stupid thing, means my phone hasn't been connected to the network for days! I hadn't noticed a thing...

Just shows how good the 3G connections on mobile phones are these days that I couldn't tell the difference between that and my ADSL broadband!

Sorry for wasting your time, I didn't do it deliberately. I blame my crappy router!

May 06, 2010, 02:15:29 PM
Reply #26

Rick Willeme

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 619
    • Andy Cobben .nl
PROBLEM SOLVED!

Someone on YouTube spotted my phone wasn't actually connected to the wifi, even though the phone settings said it should be. Turns out I had to reboot my router and get a new connection. Such a stupid thing, means my phone hasn't been connected to the network for days! I hadn't noticed a thing...

Just shows how good the 3G connections on mobile phones are these days that I couldn't tell the difference between that and my ADSL broadband!

Sorry for wasting your time, I didn't do it deliberately. I blame my crappy router!

Great!  ;D
I'm brainstorming on this for days. I'm glad it's not a bug :)
Rick Willeme
Light Engineer AndyCobben.nl

May 06, 2010, 05:21:50 PM
Reply #27

Maarten Engels

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2383
    • www.visualproductions.nl
No problem; we learn as well from this scenario.
Maarten Engels
Visual Productions BV

June 14, 2010, 11:46:34 PM
Reply #28

pbel

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Light Operator
    • Exa Light + Sound GmbH
If you add this to the end of your html header / beginning of html body it should hide the title bar on the iphone:

...
<meta name = "viewport" content = "width = device-width, user-scalable=no">
    <!-- script um auf dem iPhone die Adresszeile auszublenden-->
   <script type="text/javascript" language="javascript">
      // Hide MobileSafari Toolbar when page is loaded
      window.addEventListener("load", function() { setTimeout(loaded, 100) }, false);
      function loaded() {
         document.getElementById("topbar").style.visibility = "visible";
         window.scrollTo(0, 1); // pan to the bottom, hides the location bar
      }
   </script>
   <!-- ende ausblendskript-->


</head>
<body>

<div id="topbar" width: 300px >


....
cheers
Petr
---
cuelux on mac os x 10.6 and windows 7 with bfc 2000. mac 500, mx 10, minimac profile, led flood

June 16, 2010, 02:15:12 PM
Reply #29

Jeroen van der Velden

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 181
    • http://www.visualproductions.nl
The location bar should already hide on the iPhone as the startup() function does exactly that (scroll to 0,1).

However, as iPhone OS changes those "tricks" might stop working.
Jeroen van der Velden
Moving light operator

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk