Visual Productions forum

Author Topic: backup without vmanager  (Read 661 times)

April 07, 2021, 01:23:42 PM
Read 661 times

c2b

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Hi,

I have a few devices (Cuecore2) that I access through a VPN.
Unfortunately that seems to mean that the VManager application in my laptop runs erratically (maybe bad network on the VPN side).

I was wondering if there is any way for me to request a backup of the file through a linux server? Perhaps there is an AJAX request implemented along these lines?

Thank you for your help


April 07, 2021, 01:26:00 PM
Reply #1

c2b

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Hi,

I have a few devices (Cuecore2) that I access through a VPN.
Unfortunately that seems to mean that the VManager application in my laptop runs erratically (maybe bad network on the VPN side).

I was wondering if there is any way for me to request a backup of the file through a linux server? Perhaps there is an AJAX request implemented along these lines?

Thank you for your help

April 07, 2021, 04:51:43 PM
Reply #2

Bootsy van der Zande

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 478
Hi,

I have merged the topics into the right board.

Unfortunately, there is no way of making a backup other than with vManager. This is because the backup itself is created by vManager based on many different packets and protocol versions etc.

Can you tell me what issues you are experiencing with the VPN connection and vManager? Which operating system are you using? Which version of vManager are you using? (In case of Windows, is it the *.exe from the website or downloaded through the Microsoft Store)

Greetings,
Bootsy

April 12, 2021, 08:56:59 AM
Reply #3

c2b

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Hi,

Thank you again for timely reply.

It seems as the VManager does not find my devices, I can navigate to the device using the browser

I am using mac OS Catalina and the most up to date VManager 1.4.69

Are there any future plans for terminal integration? would be really handy at least for my use cases as mostly the devices are deployed together with a linux server

April 12, 2021, 09:40:56 AM
Reply #4

Bootsy van der Zande

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 478
Hi,

What is the IP adres reported in the "About" page of vManager?

vManager relies on broadcast messages to find the devices, for this to work you have to be in the same IP broadcast range as the devices.

I'm afraid there are no plans for terminal integration for backup/restore.

Greetings,
Bootsy

April 19, 2021, 11:06:39 AM
Reply #5

c2b

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Hi,

Everything is looking healthy in the about tab.
As in the screenshot, i see two IP addresses, the first is my IP in my local network, the second the IP I am assigned in the VPN.
The cuecore is at 10.0.0.12 in the VPN network and I can reach it over the webbrowser.

I have tried logging from a different  network and different machines without luck

April 19, 2021, 02:55:13 PM
Reply #6

Bootsy van der Zande

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 478
Hi,

I think the broadcast messages might not be sent over the VPN. Perhaps you could check using WireShark?

There are two ways vManager and a CueCore2 can find each other, but both rely on broadcast:
-vManager sends broadcast, CueCore2 responds with unicast
-CueCore2 sends broadcast, vManager responds with unicast

All communication after that is done using unicast.

If the broadcast succeeds, you will see the device in the list (even if the unicast communication fails).
If the unicast fails, the IP will be in orange for "out of range", if it succeeds it will be in white and everything should be working.

Let me know if this helps. I think there might be a way to "cheat" using a unicast message from CueCore2 to the device running vManager, but I have to check that first. Also it would only work if the device running vManager has a static IP of course.
Perhaps it would be best to have some contact over email about that, you can contact me using support at visualproductions.nl

Greetings,
Bootsy

May 18, 2021, 11:25:21 AM
Reply #7

c2b

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Thank you again for your support. Will follow up on email

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk