Visual Productions forum

Author Topic: Bug in DMX Output?  (Read 3238 times)

June 18, 2009, 09:05:17 AM
Read 3238 times

Erics

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 202
  • Member of the Turn The Table DJ Team
    • Turn The Table DJ Team
Hello Cuelux Team,
I don't know if its a bug. But it seems to be one for me. I use Cuelux 0.31Build 1 Beta on Win XP.

I created a new show. I captcherd the DMX Output. 512 Channels. All Value 0. Everythings fine.

Now i patch a 8 Channel Generic Dimmer. I created a fading:
Channel: 1, 2,3,4,5,6,7,8
Step1: 100%,0%,0%,0%,0%,0%,0%,0%
Step2: 0%,100%,0%,0%,0%,0%,0%,0%
Step3: 0%,0%,100%,0%,0%,0%,0%,0%
Step4: 0%,0%,0%,100%,0%,0%,0%,0%
Step5: 0%,0%,0%,0%,100%,0%,0%,0%
Step6: 0%,0%,0%,0%,0%,100%,0%,0%
Step7: 0%,0%,0%,0%,0%,0%,100%,0%
Step8: 0%,0%,0%,0%,0%,0%,0%,100%

I created it as loop and changed the the scenes to follow.

When i started the cuelist on fader 1 it Displays normal fading. You could see it in the DMX Monitor and all seems to work fine.

But whe i captured the DMX Output i have a fading on channel 1 to 8 and a Value of 5 on Channel 20. But there is nothing patched on Channel 20.
The Value of 5 on channel 20 is there even in Black Out Mode. But in the DMX Monitor of Cuelux the Value is 0.

Could you check where is the Problem?

June 18, 2009, 09:20:50 AM
Reply #1

Maarten Engels

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2383
    • www.visualproductions.nl
hi Erics,

Yes I will have a look at this. Could you please tell me the pcb version and the firmware version of your 'CueCable'. You can read in Options->Hardware.

thanks
Maarten Engels
Visual Productions BV

June 18, 2009, 09:40:57 AM
Reply #2

Erics

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 202
  • Member of the Turn The Table DJ Team
    • Turn The Table DJ Team
PCB-Version is 1.2
Firmware is 1.02

June 27, 2009, 11:38:38 AM
Reply #3

Maarten Engels

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2383
    • www.visualproductions.nl
Sorry Erics,

I am unable to reproduce this issue. Do you still have the problem with version 0.31.4? If you do, is the problem then resolved by restarting cuelux?

One possible explanation is that before you create a new show, something was patched on channel 20 and this channel wasn't cleared properly by software. Although it doesn't explain why there a different values between Cuelux' DMX Monitor and your DMX tester...
Maarten Engels
Visual Productions BV

June 30, 2009, 09:08:22 AM
Reply #4

Erics

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 202
  • Member of the Turn The Table DJ Team
    • Turn The Table DJ Team
Thanks for your Time,

I tested it yesterday with 0.31.4 and the Problem was gone. I don't know whats the trouble was. But it seems to be solved. Perhaps it could be a problem that i installed the last Versions over the old ones in the same directory. Now i installed 0.31.4 in the default clean directory.
I think normal it's not a real problem when i have no Fixtures patched on the channels when there is DMX Data on. And normaly i don't capture the DMX Output when i make a show. But i was intressted how fast (refreshrate...) the Interface is.

Whe you buy a cheap interface and use ist for fast LED dimmings with 512 Channels there could be noticeable delay in the DMX Output.

June 30, 2009, 05:00:09 PM
Reply #5

Maarten Engels

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2383
    • www.visualproductions.nl
Did you find any delays with Cuelux?

Nowadays LED fixtures are a crucial part of a lighting tech's toolbox. We've put quite some work into making a fluent software engine for Cuelux. All fades are calcualted with 33Hz on the computer, on any platform. The USB cable outputs the DMX at approx. 40Hz. In theory DMX could go as fast as 44Hz but our experience tells us that some lower-budget fixtures can't keep up with the maximum refresh rate.
Maarten Engels
Visual Productions BV

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk