Visual Productions forum

Author Topic: Cuelist Problem  (Read 3574 times)

June 24, 2009, 11:23:17 AM
Read 3574 times

vnx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 93
Hi,

I now got my cuecable, went straight into testing and may have found a bug:

I made a very simple cuelist with a dimmerpack and 4 PAR64:

Channel:  1       2      3      4
Step 1:     255   0      0      0
Step 2:     0       255  0      0
Step 3:     0       0      255  0
Step 4:     0       0      0      255

The problem is, that the last step somehow gets stuck, meaning that the value 255 for fixture 4 stays on, when relooping the cuelist. I have also deleted step 4 and then have the same problem with step 3. I also verified in the DMX monitor that the value 255 is stuck on that fixture channel. So what i eventually get when the cuelist reloops is:

Channel:  1       2      3      4
Step 1:     255    0      0      255
Step 2:     0       255   0      255
Step 3:     0       0      255   255
Step 4:     0       0      0       255

Best,

Ben

 
Cuelux 1.03b22 on MacBook Pro (MacOSX 10.6.5) / Thinkpad X41t (WinXP) using Livid Ohm64 Controller

June 24, 2009, 11:52:59 AM
Reply #1

Jeroen van der Velden

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 181
    • http://www.visualproductions.nl
Hi Ben,

Thanks for your post and clear explanation of the problem you have.

When you'd recorded cue 1, did you set the dimmer back to value 0 or did you clear the programmer and started with creating step 2?
Jeroen van der Velden
Moving light operator

June 24, 2009, 01:32:11 PM
Reply #2

vnx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 93
Hi,

I have set the dimmer back to 0.

Best,

Ben
Cuelux 1.03b22 on MacBook Pro (MacOSX 10.6.5) / Thinkpad X41t (WinXP) using Livid Ohm64 Controller

June 24, 2009, 03:41:44 PM
Reply #3

Jeroen van der Velden

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 181
    • http://www.visualproductions.nl
I see the problem. When recording a 4-channel dimmer chase for example, the first cue doesn't include the "0" value for the 4th dimmer channel. So, when the cuelist plays and sets the 4th channel to 100% in the last cue, it stays at 100% because the first step doesn't set it back to 0% (that's the result of so-called "tracking" - when the value isn't recorded, it'll remain the same as in the previous cue).

So, to record a chase like this without the problem:
- Select all (sub)fixtures you want to use in the chase
- Set them to 0% dimmer
- Select the first fixture and set to 100%
- Record as cue 1
- Set the first fixture back to 0% and set the second fixture to 100%
- Record as cue 2
- Etc.

Now the 0% value is recorded for all fixtures (except the one you set to 100%) in the first step and the cuelist will set the last fixture to 0% when it loops back to cue 1.

However, there is a new great function in the last Cuelux release (0.31 build 2 beta, available at the website) that's called the "Generator". You'll find it by opening the CUE menu and clicking on the "Generator" button. This wizard allows you to quickly create chases without programming steps invidually. After you've generated a chase-cuelist, use the PLAY menu to assign it to a playback.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2009, 03:44:06 PM by Jeroen van der Velden »
Jeroen van der Velden
Moving light operator

June 25, 2009, 11:24:44 AM
Reply #4

vnx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 93
Hi,

OK, I now understand how it works . Your explaination makes perfectly sense! Coming from a Lightcommander this is something getting used to. I also tried the generator, thanks for the hint!

One fast question that is not related to the now solved cuelist problem: is it intended behaviour that cuelux starts up with all faders up which have a cuelist assigned? I personally find that a bit irritating, because I only want faders up where i really need them, so i find myself first pulling down all the faders after startup ;-)

Thanks a lot,

Ben
Cuelux 1.03b22 on MacBook Pro (MacOSX 10.6.5) / Thinkpad X41t (WinXP) using Livid Ohm64 Controller

June 25, 2009, 11:57:52 AM
Reply #5

Maarten Engels

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2383
    • www.visualproductions.nl
hi Ben,

I agree with you regarding the faders going up automatically at startup. I will change that soon.

Maarten Engels
Visual Productions BV

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk