Visual Productions forum

Author Topic: Connection between editor and tablets / phones  (Read 429 times)

February 17, 2023, 08:19:32 AM
Read 429 times

KlankOntwerp

I have been struggling to understand why I cannot connect to the Editor software on a certain site. I’m not a beginner to networking and have used the software at multiple other sites with no problems. Only difference is Windows 11 on the Editor server (NUC11).

Situational description:

Editor server:
- NUC11 with network dongle for show control network (fixed ip in 192/24); internal NIC = link local Dante
- Editor is in firewall exception rule but right now firewall and UAC are off
- connection with multiple other machines within network via UDP and TCP without issues, Packet sender tests confirm no general issues

Network:

- Wired and wireless shoco VLAN 1 (default) are the same:
- DHCP server
- no firewalls
- multicast DNS
- IGMP snooping
- DHCP snooping

There are two other VLANs

Devices:

- iPhones
- Android tablets

What is the issue:

- Inputting the IP of the Editor server in the tablets does not pop up the editor as it does in other locations.

What have I tried:

- Turning everything of and on multiple times
- Multiple devices
- UDP/TCP apps on phones to assure connection (to other devices / packet sender on Editor server) is possible - there is a connection possible.

I am a little lost on where to check further. How can I resolve this issue?

February 17, 2023, 10:33:48 AM
Reply #1

Julien Levaufre

• Administrator
    • www.visualproductions.nl
We already had some issues reported using the editor with windows 11.
It seems that the new firewall do not like it.
But you said that you turned off the firewall so this should be something else.

Could you try to make the shorter connection between the editor and Kiosc, to be able to check if the problem is coming from your server with windows 11, or from some network settings?
Julien Levaufre
Visual Productions BV